

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Susan Pareigis

Officers

Steven T. Halverson Chair The Haskell Company

Rhea F. Law Vice Chair Fowler White Boggs, P.A.

Marshall M. Criser, III Immediate Past Chair

Barney Barnett Treasurer Publix Super Markets, Inc.

Susan Pareigis President and CEO

Board of Directors

Carlos J. Alfonso Alfonso Architects

Lee Arnold Colliers International

Allan G. Bense

Bense Enterprises, Inc.

R. Mark Bostick

Comcar Industries, Inc.

Edward E. Burr GreenPointe Holdings, LLC

> Dean Colson Colson Hicks Eidson

Christopher Corr Rayonier

Marshall M. Criser, Jr. President Emeritus University of Florida

Remedios Diaz-Oliver All American Containers, Inc.

> David F. Dyer Chico's FAS, Inc.

Manny A. Fernandez Sysco Corporation

F. Philip Handy Strategic Industries, LLC

Benjamin H. Hill, III Hill Ward Henderson, P.A.

> Mike Jackson AutoNation

Leerie T. Jenkins, Jr. Reynolds, Smith & Hills, Inc.

> Sydney W. Kitson Kitson & Partners

Stephen Knopik Beall's Inc.

Paul Leone Flagler System, Inc.

Fred Leonhardt GrayRobinson Law Firm

Scott Lutgert
The Lutgert Companies

Lou Plasencia
The Plasencia Group

Peter Rummell
Rummell Company, LLC

Kathleen Shanahan Uretek Holdings

William G. Smith Capital City Bank Group, Inc.

Stella Thayer Tampa Bay Downs, Inc.

> Rasesh Thakkar Tavistock Group

(813) 229-1775 spareigis@fc100.org

Florida Council of 100 Commends Board of Governors for Work of Access & Attainment Commission and TEAm Grant Awards

TAMPA, Fla. (March 20, 2014) – In 2012, former chair of the Board of Governors, Dean Colson, created the Board of Governors' Commission on Florida Higher Education Access and Degree Attainment to study the statewide need for future baccalaureate degree attainment. Based on the Commission's recommendations, Governor Scott and the 2013 Legislature provided the Board of Governors \$15 million to incent state postsecondary institutions to produce more baccalaureate degree graduates in fields of high demand. Today, the Board of Governors approved the awards under the new grant program.

"The Florida Council of 100 commends Board of Governors chair Mori Hosseini, former chair Dean Colson, and chancellor Marshall Criser, III, for the successful work of the Commission on Florida Higher Education Access and Degree Attainment and today's issuance of the Targeted Educational Attainment Grant Program awards," said Steve Halverson, chair of the Florida Council of 100. "A highly skilled workforce is the key driver of Florida's economy, and these grants will help continue to build that workforce in the fast-growing areas of information technology and accounting."

Grant applicants received a significant number of points during the review process for partnering with other Florida postsecondary institutions.

"It is heartening to see the programmatic collaboration among our state's colleges and universities on a project of this magnitude," stated Rhea Law, vice chair of the Florida Council of 100. "The need for these graduates is statewide, and these TEAm grant partnerships will go a long way toward ensuring that all Florida businesses have the workers that they need to thrive."

Grantees are expected to quickly ramp-up their programs and document new degree production and job placements through 2017-18.

"We look forward to following the progress of these colleges and universities over the next five years," said Stephen Knopik, chair of the Council of 100's Higher Education Committee. "Every new, talented graduate produced by our postsecondary system is vital to Florida's continued economic success."

###

Formed in 1961, the Florida Council of 100 is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of business, civic, and academic leaders, which exists to promote the economic growth of Florida and a high quality of life for its citizens. Visit www.fc100.org for more information.